top of page
  • Writer's pictureNational Federation Party - Fiji


The President of the Fiji Law Society, prominent social and community workers, a prominent women’s rights personality, a backpacker resort owner and a minister in the multi-party Cabinet deposed in the military coup are amongst 8 candidates announced today to contest the forthcoming general elections under the banner of the National Federation Party.

This is the 2nd batch of candidates announced by the NFP following the announcement of  eleven candidates a fortnight ago.  This brings to 19 the number of candidates announced so far by the NFP.

The 8 candidates are: –

  1. Dorsami Naidu

Dorsami Naidu is the President of the Fiji Law Society. After graduating as a lawyer from University of Canterbury, New Zealand, he entered private practice in 1983. In 1985, he established his own law firm under the name of Pillai Nadu & Associates in Nadi.

Mr Naidu has held various positions in the Then India Sanmargya Ikya Sangam. He was TISI Sangam President from April 2000 to April 2011.

As Law Society President he was a member of the Judicial Legal Services Commission until April 2009.

Mr Naidu was a NFP Member of Parliament for 7 years between 1992 and 1999. In November 1993 following the debate on the 1994 Budget, he called for a division or vote on the Budget. This led to the defeat of the 1994 Budget, and the fall of the Rabuka Government, resulting in snap general elections in February 1994. He was a member of the Parliamentary Justice, Law & Order Committee.

He contested the 1999 and 2001 general elections. In 2001 he was NFP’s Deputy Leader for the elections. He was NFP’s President from 2004 to 2005.

  1. Ragho Nand

Ragho Nand is veteran social worker and a former Member of Parliament. Originally from Labasa he has been a resident of Nausori for several years. He was a school teacher for 34 years.

In 1999, he quit his teaching career to contest the elections as a Fiji Labour Party candidate. He served as a Labour Party MP for seven years from 1999 to 2006. During this time he served as a Member of the parliamentary social services and public accounts committees.

Following the 2006 general elections, he was one of nine FLP Ministers in the SDL-FLP Multi-Party Cabinet that was deposed in a military coup on 5th December 2006. Mr Nand was the Employment Opportunities and Productivity Minister in the Multi-Party Cabinet.

  1. Bhim Raj

Bhim Raj of Nausori, is a retired civil servant having worked in the public service for 34 years.  He began his civil service career as a clerical officer in 1976 at the Government Supplies Department. He also worked in a similar position in the Elections Office in 1986 and 1987.

From 1987 to 1994, Mr Raj worked as an Assistant Accountant in the Ministry of Lands. In July 1994, he gained promotion as an Accountant  for two years worked in the Housing and Urban Development Ministry.

Mr Raj served as an Accountant in the Ministries of Agriculture and Multi-Ethnic Affairs, as well as Department of Women. He acted as a Senior Accountant in the Ministry of Health.

  1. Eroni Maopa

Original from Qamea Island in the province of Cakaudrove, Eroni Maopa of Nadi is a lawyer.

Mr Maopa was a police officer from 1987 to 1996. He graduated as a lawyer from the University of the South Pacific and has been practicing law for 13 years from 2001. He also has a Diploma in Business Administration & Management from Jersey – Britain – through a correspondence course.

Mr Maopa’s community work involves advising and overseeing development at village level in Qamea Island and Naselai, Tailevu.

  1. Latchmaiya Naidu

Latchmaiya Naidu of Labasa is a businessman. He is also a well known social worker. He has served as a Member and Chairman of Old People’s Home, Secretary of Crime Stoppers  Zone 2 Labasa to name a few. He is a Vice President of  TISI Sangam Labasa Branch.

Mr Naidu owns and operates Latchmi Enterprises Ltd.

  1. Priscilla Singh

Priscilla Singh is a leading women’s rights personality.

Some of her attributes are: –

  1. Nine years experience in policy-making and local-governance, served 3 terms as elected member of Suva City Council between 1996 and 2009.

  2. Leadership skills acquired through the trade union movement, political party and NGO participation, Local Government and training.

  3. Member of the NFP Management Board. Also served as Secretary of the NFP Women’s Movement, NFP Senior Vice-President Southern as well as a former member of the NFP Selection Committee. She contested the 2006 general elections.

  4. Strengths in networking; understanding and appreciating diverse viewpoints; and at ease in cross-cultural settings.

  5. Ability in working with all levels in the community including political and religious leaders, NGO’s and civil society.

  6. Ability to manage and organize election campaigns, facilitate team work and also to organize events individually.

  7. Exposure and networking gained through travel to following countries: United states of America, England, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, Korea, Thailand, Central Asia (Kyrgyzstan), Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Nepal, Timor Leste, Vanuatu, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Tonga

Tuinadave Radogo

Tuinadave Radogo, commonly known as Tui Kabu, owns and operates Ratu Kini Backpackers/Dive Resort in Mana Island.

From 2010 he has been the President of the Fiji Independent Backpackers Association.

Mr Radogo is originally from Mualevu village in Vanuabalavu, Lau.  He received his tertiary education at the University of the South Pacific, Andrews University, Michigan, USA and Simon Fraser University in Canada. He has a Diploma in Business Administration.

  1. Narendra Reddy

Narendra Reddy of Tavua has an exemplary record of service, both to the community as well as the NFP.

Mr Reddy has fought four elections including a by-election. He successfully contested 4 Sugar Cane Growers Council elections from 1995 to 2004. He was a Sugar Cane Growers Councilor from 1995 to 2009 for the Yaladro Sector in Tavua.

Mr Reddy served as Vice-Chairman of the Growers Council, member of the Ba Mill Area Committee and member of the Sugar Commission during this time.

Currently he is the Chairman of Tavua District Advisory Council and a member of the Ba Provincial Development Committee. He has served as Tavua Hospital Board Chairman, Tavua Rural Local Authority Chairman, Tavua Farmers Club Cooperative Association Ltd Chairman and Tavua Andhra Sangam School Chairman.


Não foi possível carregar comentários
Parece que houve um problema técnico. Tente reconectar ou atualizar a página.
bottom of page